Review: Iced

Iced
Iced by Karen Marie Moning
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I couldn’t even finish this book, although the plot looked interesting. In a time when the wall between the Fey world and the human world came crashing down, in Ireland, young Dani O’Malley, who has partial fey powers (it wasn’t explained yet by the time I put it down), is stuck being a sort of go-between. What bothered me about the book was that she was fourteen, although the book wasn’t labelled as juvenile, nor did it seem to fit in it, as the author is known for her steamy historical/paranormal romances. But it was the tone and backhanded, slang filled conversational style of the primadonna, full of herself heroine that got me. There wasn’t anything likeable about her. I tried for a few chapters, thinking that maybe something would pop up in her past that would explain her cockiness and utter disregard for others. But none came. Maybe there will later, but I found her so distasteful that I couldn’t wait that long. Books that are “too” cutesy regarding the teen attitudes just aren’t realistic to me. Having raised two daughters through teenhood, I never saw or heard them talk or act that way. It seemed forced and contrived. Enter heroine, defined as brash, full of herself, and then add dialogue to fit. Not for me.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: Iced

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really good articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for
    your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Many thanks!