Review: Afraid

Afraid
Afraid by Jack Kilborn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

While I might have given this a lower rating, since it was somewhat run-of-the mill, it was just enough up my alley that I wanted to try others that he has written. So I may change it down if I don’t like the others. Set in a small Wisconsin town (remind me NOT to go into a small wooded Wisconsin town with only one entrance even though I am from Minnesota), and full of enough blood and guts to last a long while. The four main characters are Sheriff Streng, about to retire, Fran a waitress at the local diner, her son Duncan, and an old friend Josh, an EMT, are faced with unmentionable horror after a helicopter crashes in the woods near town. Surrounded and cut-off, with army barricades at the only entrance into the town, situated in a end in the lake, they must fight off a terrifying force capable of ripping off a man’s head. More along the lines of a SyFy Saturday night movie of the week, there isn’t much character development, and the government conspiracy plot has been done many times, but still it rolls along nicely, and the suspense is well-plotted in. Taking a sort of wait and see approach on this one.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: Afraid

  1. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a variety of
    websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there
    a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!