Review: The Rift

The Rift
The Rift by Walter Jon Williams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first book by this author I have read, and although it is what has been described as a doorstopper, the scoppe of what he wanted to accomplish needed a big book. I only wish it were longer or that there was a sequel. The lack of threads being tied up, and the rush to try and finish the story towards the end left me slightly dissatisfied. But the rest of the book was amazing in scope, and in depth. He chose a small central cast of characters, and how the successive quakes along the New Madrid Fault Line (which went in 1811, and about 1000 years before that), with earthquakes ranging from 8.9 to 8.3, affected them.

One of the main characters was a female general in charge of the Corp of Engineers, Mississippi Valley Division, so she had a great deal of prominence due to the role her agency played. The earthquake destroyed many cities along the Mississippi and further inland along some of the contributing fault lines, altered the course of the river in some areas, and left millions temporarily homeless, without power, telephone service, and even food and shelter. Three other characters stuck out – Jason, a young teen who got separated from his mother and managed to hook up with a man trying to ind his family, as they made their way down the river from Missouri to Louisiana. Brother Frankland, a radio end of times preacher had been stockpiling for years, with food, weapons, and shelter for people to come and gather and await the end, where they would be saved. But he became a tad over zealous in his attempts to “save” everyone. And in contrast, was the sheriff of Spottswood Parrish, a small traditional southern town, where he was a Kleagle for the KKK in his area, and proceeded to fall apart when his son became entangled in a group of hard core fanatics, and was persuaded to set up camps for whites and another one for blacks. The stories intertwine, and everyone suffers in one way or another, as the country is brought to it’s knees when the middle of the US is ripped apart, and commerce and traffic on the river is stopped, the river becomes contaminated, and millions flee. And many die. A good book that could have been great if he had taken the time and space to make sure that the ending was as carefully plotted and planned as the rest of the book. But still worth a read, as it shows the good, the bad and the ugly side of human nature when faced with a crisis, or a change in the power structure.

View all my reviews

8 responses to “Review: The Rift

  1. Hello, just wanted to tell you, I liked this blog post.
    It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  2. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i’m
    satisfied to show that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out
    exactly what I needed. I most indisputably will make sure to
    do not fail to remember this web site and provides it a glance on
    a continuing basis.

  3. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?

  4. That is very interesting, You are an overly professional blogger.

    I have joined your feed and stay up for in the hunt for extra of
    your great post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  5. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a
    few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  6. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She
    put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is
    entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so i got here to return the favor?

    .I’m trying to find issues to improve my website!I assume its good enough to make use of some of your ideas!!

  8. You made some decent points there. I checked on
    the internet to learn more about the issue and found most individuals will
    go along with your views on this site.