Review: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I don’t read much zombie fiction, since there isn’t that much that I am aware of that is great stuff. I love zombie movies and The Walking Dead is one of my favorite TV shows. I had the book recommended to me by my daughter due to the movie which she insisted I watch the trailer with her – she knows I like zombies. She hasn’t read the book, but knew I’d be interested. Strangely, since the movie is coming out soon, there was no waiting period for it. And stranger still that I had no previous knowledge of the book – had never heard of it, although I had heard and seen his Zombie Survival Guide. But it is one that I want to own. That said, it started slow, and I wasn’t sure I’d like it. It is done as a sort of addendum to an official report after that paper on what had transpired was given to the commission, and most of the personal details left out – facts and figures only. So he compiled it into a book. It’s done in sections, like “Warnings”, “Blame”, and “The Great Panic.” etc. I don’t want to go into too much detail or it will spoil the fun. But it just sort of lodges in you as various people who were involved in the different stages were interviewed or simply told their stories for that period. Most of the people only showed up once, but a few showed up two or three times during the full accounting. Many times I wished for more of them – what happened later? Obviously they survived, since they were being interviewed, but how? It is done sort of dispassionately, and because it is in the interview format, some of the tension from a straight novel approach is gone, but it is replaced by a more factual appearance, and straight telling, in it’s starkness. Differing viewpoints, from various locations around the world round out the accounts as the author progresses through the events. By the end I was racing through it, and well, it is very real. Loved it! Simply loved it! Can’t wait to see how they make it into a movie though.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

  1. Definitely will recommend this book to my year 10’s. Should engage those that don’t like reading! Thanks