Review: Strindberg’s Star

Strindberg's Star
Strindberg’s Star by Jan Wallentin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is a slightly unusual entry into the DaVinci Code type thrillers that I call artifact thrillers. It’s about the story of a man who found pieces of an ancient device, buried in the sands in a city lost in the desert in Southern Russia/Mongolia. When the star shape is placed within the ankh shaped cross, they come together to form a celestial map to something. What that is, and how it is found, then lost,and found again now, is the exciting part. It’s a race against time, and several competing interests, all who want the power that is Strindberg’s Star. Wish I could give you more, but I forgot to write the review before returning the book, and without it in hand, my memory won’t allow me any more details. The main character is a reporter, tracking down the story of a cave diver who found a piece of the device, buried deep in a cave in Sweden, and a lawyer who tries to help him, but for his interests or her own? A race across the continent, through Belgium, Germany and Russia. And a caring sister, who’s hacking skills help them get away from those that would do them harm add to the cast.  No one is quite “clean” here – they all are hiding something, from minor issues to larger ones.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.