Review: Havoc

Havoc
Havoc by R.J. Pineiro
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Not read – couldn’t get past the silly simile’s scattered throughout the first few pages – trying to be a hard-boiled ex-spy and only seeming silly. Could have been good – nano-swarms, but just couldn’t get past the first few pages, and I have read others of his I liked. Strange. “Sudden terror grips my intestines tighter than cheap Salvadoran food … the thought of some terrorist a**hole tying me down and clogging my plumbing by supergluing my pee hole and my ass , watching me explode through my mouth, nose, and ears after a couple of immensely painful days without training the dew or…” Sorry to put you through that, but that was page 2 and as far as I got.

View all my reviews

2 responses to “Review: Havoc

  1. Yikes! Although, I hate to see anyone get a 1 rating.

    • Me too – and I rarely give them out, only a couple ever. And I have liked his other stuff, and was really looking forward to it. But the first few pages were nothing but that kind of thing, and I couldn’t get past it. Maybe it gets better, but I think he was trying for a hard-boiled swashbuckling tone and missed it by a mile. By the way – I appreciate all your “likes.”
      Thank you very much!