Review: Prophecy of the Sisters

Prophecy of the Sisters
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is the first in a series of two twin sisters, part of a long line of sisters, who are destined to fulfill a prophecy that they don’t know about, and only find out about just before they are orphaned. The prophecy pits them against each other, as mortal enemies who are destined to destroy of save the world. It’s set in Victorian times, and the pace and writing of the book fit the period. It is leek a gothic novel written during that time. Echoes of those books are throughout this. I didn’t catch any inconsistencies, and I am a stickler for those. The prophecy twist is an interesting one, and it’s really about souls, and about the other planes of existence. Dripping with darkness and damp, secrets, betrayals, all while under the rigid rules and constraints against women during that time, it is a very good book, and I am looking forward to the others in the series. The cover is bland, so don’t be put off by it. Sorry for the brief set-up, but I try and give away no more than the blurb does.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.