Review: Tyger Tyger

Tyger Tyger
Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the first book in the Goblin Wars series. I was going to give it 4 1/2 stars, but couldn’t decide to bump up or down, so I went with up. If the other books prove as entertaining, then it will stay. If not, down to 4 it goes. This is a real adventure about goblins, and various fae people, set in Cincinnati, but drawing heavily on the Irish folklore about the beginning of the world, and how it split up, and how the Mag Mell, or the fae world was sealed. Teagan is living a normal life of a teen, wanting to go to Cornell and be a vet, when one day her long-lost “cousin” comes to stay at the behest of social services. Finn is almost eighteen and they need someplace to put him until he ages out. But there is something different about Finn Mac Cumhaill. Not only does she feel an instant connection with him, but once he arrives, strange things start happening, and she begins to see … creatures. Finn leaves, realizing he has brought the fae world to her home, but it is too late -the family has been touched, and their past history with the goblin world is about to come to light. Full of tons of fun characters, and folklore, this is a breathless adventure through the Cincinnati area, and Mag Mell. You will meet all the dark fae, and be dragged into their world. My only complaint with the book, and that could be my faulty memory, is that at times it got too complicated for me – with all the old Gaelic names and places, and who did what, and who got rid of who or cursed this one, it got confusing for me, after a night’s respite. But that may be me. Others may find it easy to follow. I hope so, for the amount of sheer goblin information she puts into the book is amazing. You come out of it feeling like there should be a cat-sídhe around the corner. Romance, terror, danger and fun.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.