Review: Blood Wounds

Blood Wounds
Blood Wounds by Susan Beth Pfeffer
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I adored this author’s Yellowstone erupts trilogy, The Dead and the Gone, and so I grabbed this new short one. I was very disappointed, but it might just be me, so please don’t allow my rating to sway you. I am not particularly fond, at all, of family dramas, and those types of books, like Jodi Piccoult (sp?), etc. I prefer action in my books, not how people feel, and how it all falls apart. It starts out with this nice, normal blended family where everyone seems happy, a few teenage whines, but it’s three girls. The father doesn’t like conflict so they pander to him. Two of the girls are his from a previous marriage. His ex wife is doing well in her career, and gives the girls lots of things, as do her weathy parents, their grandparents. They get private tennis or dressage lessons, competitions and trips to Europe, lots of new clothes, etc, while the daughter of the mom from a previous marriage gets nothing. Sort of the Cinderella.

She has her own little secret on how she copes. Suddenly though, everything is turned about, as the mom’s ex-husband, the girl’s father, is missing along with one of his baby twins, while his 2nd wife, and two daughters, were murdered brutally. The police suspect he may be on his way to the mom and his older daughter, and so begins a game of cat and mouse, as Willa tried to discover more about her past – she didn’t know anything really – her mother wouldn’t talk about it. She didn’t even know she had half-sisters, so she insists on going to the small town in Texas for their funeral. And everything starts breaking apart, and the family crashes and burns as secrets big and small are revealed as well as the true feelings of some of the family members. Some may like it, I didn’t. I like a story with more action, more fun, more happiness, unless it’s dystopian. So I think this is a matter of taste, rather than skill, but I had to give it a low score for my own use, so I don’t try and read it again. If you like family dramas, and secrets, etc, you might well enjoy this one.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: Blood Wounds

  1. I wasn’t a fan of this one either.