Review: The Last Thing I Remember

The Last Thing I Remember
The Last Thing I Remember by Andrew Klavan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the first book in at least a four part series, so perhaps many of my problems and concerns will be addressed in future volumes.  That said, it is a fairly easy book to read, not very taxing on the brain, about a young man who awakens, strapped in a chair, and obviously the victim of torture.  He eventually escapes, but while he is doing this, he goes back to the last day he remembers, and tries to piece it together, so that we get a strong sense of his life “before.”  It’s not dystopian, or PA, but more about homegrown terrorists, who wanted to try and get some information from him in their plot to do evil deeds.  The rest of the book is spent with him fleeing, remembering, and trying to prevent what he now knows is supposed to happen.  My main objection to the book is that we really have no idea (or none that I recall), of why he was chosen.  That, combined with the somewhat small plot of terrorists, is what keeps this from 4 stars. But I may change it when I read the others. Sometimes an author stretches some plot points over several books, in order to not give it all away.  Charlie is a junior black belt, and working his way up, and his training, along with Churchill’s motto of never give up are what keep him going.  Somewhat simplistic in that premise, but kids at that age often are rather black and white, and it is clear from the flashbacks that karate plays an important role in his life.  I’d say it was an easy read, done in a few hours, and will know more as I move on to the next.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.