Review: A Million Suns

A Million Suns
A Million Suns by Beth Revis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The second book in a several book series. This one I think needs to be read in order, because much of the character’s’ backstory is revealed only partially, giving you an incomplete picture of who they are and why they do what they do. That said, I think that this could easily pass for non YA fiction if the protagonists weren’t so young. This second books deals with life on the ship following the changes made in the first book. She does a fantastic job of a generational ship world-building. Everything on that ship you get to know, down to the rusty rivets. And it’s not thrown at you lecture style, but just unveiled as we move through the ship and it’s various functions – each is well-described, and made to be important to the overall-functioning, and in this book, more surprises exist as we move again through the various parts. It concerns a young boy/man, groomed from birth to take over the mantle of the Eldest, when the current Eldest dies. And a young woman, cryo-frozen since Earth generations ago, who is woken up unexpectedly in the first book. Without major spoilers there isn’t much more I can say about the plot, but you can see through the author’s writing why some of the people feel about the ship as they do, and the varying levels of comfort, and claustrophobia suffered from some -some are agoraphobic, frightened of what might one day be outside the ship, and others are ready for the challenge. Book 3 is scheduled to come out in Jan 2013. A worthy SF book.

View all my reviews

One response to “Review: A Million Suns

  1. I’ll be honest, I only read the first few lines of your post, but only because I haven’t read Beth’s new one and I’ve really been looking forward to this sequel.

    That being said, as soon as I read the book I’m all over this post. Glad to see that the thing was good though!