Trace Adkins – a true gentleman

You’re Gonna Miss This by Trace Adkins

<object width=”400″ height=”255″ id=”uvp_fop” allowFullScreen=”false”><param name=”movie” value=”http://d.yimg.com/cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/fop/embedflv/swf/fop.swf”/><param name=”flashVars” value=”id=v58666527&eID=1301797&enableFullScreen=0″/><param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”/><embed height=”255″ width=”400″ id=”uvp_fop” allowFullScreen=”false” src=”http://d.yimg.com/cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/fop/embedflv/swf/fop.swf&#8221; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” flashvars=”id=v58666527&eID=1301797&enableFullScreen=0″ /></object>

I’m having trouble getting the videos to load properly, so I’ll work on that, or if necessary, in the future, move the blog. I like having videos, and since they changed the dashboard of WordPress, the videos and other things are very different, and some things don’t work. So bear with me in this time of change please : )

The videos are as follows:
Trace Adkins:

You’re Gonna Miss This

Songs About Me

I Got My Game On,

and check this one out (not in the post):

Swing by Trace Adkins

And:

Our Song by Taylor Swift

And for Toby Keith:

Who’s Your Daddy?

I Wanna Talk About Me

How Do You Like Me Now?

(Whiskey for My Men and) Beer For My Horses, with Willie Nelson

I first heard this song on The Celebrity Apprentice, when Trace sang it in the finale. The song spoke to me – I have two daughters ages 19 and 14, and both can’t wait to grow up and away. Although they love me, they want to keep moving ahead, and my 14 yr old has her life mapped out in infinite detail, down to the continent she plans to do her volunteer work on for the Peace Corps, and where she wants to put her wildlife conservation area. So I emailed the video and lyrics to both of them.

This song is available for purchase, lyrics, and the video at http://music.yahoo.com/track/52029467

Here’s the lyrics to “You’re Gonna Miss This”:

You’re Gonna Miss This

She was starin’ out the window of their SUV
Complainin’, sayin’, “I can’t wait to turn eighteen”
She said, “I’ll make my own money and I’ll make my own rules
Momma, put the car in park out there in front of the school”
And she kissed her head, and said, “I was just like you”

You’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days
Hadn’t gone by so fast

These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Before she knows it she’s a brand new bride
In her one bedroom apartment and her daddy stops by
He tells her it’s a nice place, she says, “It’ll do for now”
Starts talkin’ about babies and buyin’ a house
Daddy shakes his head and says, “Baby, just slow down”

Cuz’ you’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days
Hadn’t gone by so fast

These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

Five years later there’s a plumber
Workin’ on the water heater
Dog’s barkin’, phone’s ringin’
One kid’s cryin’ and one kid’s screamin’
And she keeps apologizin’

He says, “They don’t bother me
I’ve got two babies of my own
One’s thirty-six, one’s twenty-three”
Huh, it’s hard to believe

But you’re gonna miss this
You’re gonna want this back
You’re gonna wish these days
Hadn’t gone by so fast

These are some good times
So take a good look around
You may not know it now
But you’re gonna miss this

You’re gonna miss this
Yeah, you’re gonna miss this

© SONGS OF COMBUSTION MUSIC©
MUSIC OF WINDSWEPT©
EMI BLACKWOOD MUSIC INC.© NOAH’S LITTLE BOAT MUSIC

Lyrics courtesy of Gracenote

There are some other videos available ( afew below my him and two others) as well. I had never heard of Trace before the show, as I don’t follow country music, but something about his demeanor, and quiet intelligence that came out exactly when needed, were intriguing, although I sensed that he wasn’t always that quiet. Then when I heard the song, and his voice (it’s a low deep country voice), I had to share it. I don’t usually inflict my music tastes on others (other than my little Sonific Songspot widget), but this was more than a song – it was a message for all teens in too big a hurry to grow up. As I approach my 51st birthday, I look back, and wonder at where my life has gone, and ended up, and wish I was 17 again, with the whole world and choices available to me. And I figured out why I collect 70’s kitsch – I want to go back to those times when I was happy and relatively uncomplicated, with the only decisions to make were what I should spend my savings on during my trip out west, and whether to go to Mount Holyoke, a women’s ivy league school out east, or stay at home and go to the University of Minnesota, majoring in Honors Classics.

One thing I learned about country music is that the videos tell a story – much more so than in rock or pop (except for the fabulous Thriller!), and that watching them makes the song come alive. This next video explains the populist appeal of country music, far beyond it’s geographic borders:

And this one, well, it speaks for itself. It’s about fun and “you got game”:

And one last one about baseball and women:

Swing

And I found this little one on the same page, by a singer I hadn’t heard of, but it’s cute, and is SO young love:

Our Song, by Taylor Swift


And this little video is from a favorite of mine. Even though I listen to very little country music, I adore Toby Keith – he makes no apologies for who he is, or what he believes in, and I can admire that. This one’s a gem – fun and unapologetically male:

Who’s Your Daddy? by Toby Keith

<object width=”425″ height=”355″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/bPPvSvUxyJ8&hl=en”></param><param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/bPPvSvUxyJ8&hl=en” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” wmode=”transparent” width=”425″ height=”355″></embed></object>

And this one, well, it says it all. It’s a poke fun at yourself video:

<object width=”425″ height=”355″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Rhlb7l0MWKk&hl=en”></param><param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Rhlb7l0MWKk&hl=en” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” wmode=”transparent” width=”425″ height=”355″></embed></object>

And for all of you, men AND women, who found high school a little hard, and have since left it behind and gone on to bigger and better things, this one’s for you:

How Do You Like Me Now, by Toby Keith

<object width=”400″ height=”255″ id=”uvp_fop” allowFullScreen=”false”><param name=”movie” value=”http://d.yimg.com/cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/fop/embedflv/swf/fop.swf”/><param name=”flashVars” value=”id=v2143446&eID=1301797&enableFullScreen=0″/><param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”/><embed height=”255″ width=”400″ id=”uvp_fop” allowFullScreen=”false” src=”http://d.yimg.com/cosmos.bcst.yahoo.com/up/fop/embedflv/swf/fop.swf” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” flashvars=”id=v2143446&eID=1301797&enableFullScreen=0″ /></object>

And for the ultimate one, although a rather odd “take” on the genre, here’s a duet with Willie Nelson:

(Whiskey for My Men and) Beer For my Horses, with Willie Nelson

<object width=”425″ height=”355″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/NAS1PAh1jbw&hl=en”></param><param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/NAS1PAh1jbw&hl=en” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” wmode=”transparent” width=”425″ height=”355″></embed></object>

Hope you enjoy this sampling of a genre you may not be familiar with. It’s worth a look – try Toby Keith, Trace Adkins, George Strait, Kenny Chesney, Garth Brooks (his album “Sevens” and Bob Dylan’s “Nashville Skyline” got me through my divorce), Carrie Underwood, and Willie Nelson, among others.

WordPress.com Tags: , ,
Comments are closed.